5 reasons to start the Song of Shattered Sand series

Hi guys, I hope you are all well. Today I wanted to start a new series of reviews, similar to my 5 reason to read reviews, but this time it’s 5 reasons to start a series. The fifth book in the Song of Shattered Sand series is due to be released in a few months so I thought it was the perfect time to share 5 reasons to check this series out. Let’s get started.


Titles / Twelve Kings in Sharakhai, With Blood Upon the Sand, A Veil of Spears and Beneath the Twisted Tree
Unreleased titles / When Jackals Storm the Walls and A Desert Torn Asunder
Series / The Song of the Shattered Sands series – 6 books
Author / Bradley Beaulieu
Overall Rating / 

  1. The world – this series is set in the bustling desert city of Sharakhai, so if you’re looking for fantasy books set outside the traditional Medieval European world then you need to check out this series. The world Beaulieu has created is a vivid one and it is one of my favourite things about this series
  2. The characters – Çeda is a fantastic female protagonist and the rest of the characters are equally well written. While Çeda remains a focal point of the story, the series is actually a multiple perspective story with a wide range of POVs. 
  3. The plot – this series contains a compelling and intriguing story. The first book is definitely a little slow to start but stick with it because it does get better. There is so much going on and I cannot wait to see how things progress in the next two books
  4. The writing and pacing – the writing is fantastic throughout and it really draws you into the world. As I’ve already said the first book is a little slow to start, but other than that the pacing is generally really well done. 
  5. Scheming – if you enjoy political scheming, or just scheming in general, in your fantasy books, then you’ll find plenty in this series.


I’ve really enjoyed the first four books in this series so I’m looking forward to reading the final two books. When Jackals Storm the Walls, book 5, is set to be released on 23rd July 2020. There are also four novellas set in this world. 


That’s it for today. Have you guys started this series? I’d love to know what you thought. I’d also love to know if you like the idea of this style of review. Let’s chat in the comments. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.






3 thoughts on “5 reasons to start the Song of Shattered Sand series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s