Checking In: 2017 Resolutions

Hi guys, how are you? Since we’re about halfway through the year I thought I would check back with my 2017 resolutions.  To be completely I can tell you right here that I am not doing great with them :). Hopefully I can still complete some of these.

 

My first goal was the Goodreads reading challenge which I set at 100 books. I’ve had Goodreads telling me over the last couple of months that I am behind schedule. At the time of writing this I am 2 books behind schedule but I’m hopeful that I can still complete this challenge. I’ve read over 100 books for the last two years so I know that I can definitely do it, it’s whether I can do it this year. My aim to read 12 classics is going pretty well – I’ve currently read 6. I’ve basically been reading one a month. So that’s going well :).  I think I could do better on the diversity front as I haven’t really tried out a load of different authors, genres etc. I’ll try to work on that in the second half of the year. I’m happy to say I’ve been trying more fantasy and science fiction books and will continue to throughout the rest of the year. Unfortunately I haven’t finished many series (only 2 I think) and I’ve actually started a few more so I’m too doing terribly well with this goal. I think I can finish a few more series by the end of the year. The last goals I had were to read Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens and The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth – I have not read either of them. Maybe by the end of the year…

 

Basically it’s pretty mixed but I have some work ahead of me with these goals :). I think it’s still realistic for me to complete these but I’m not putting a lot of pressure on myself. If I complete the goals then great, if I don’t then it’s not the end of the world. How have you guys been doing with your resolutions? I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

9 thoughts on “Checking In: 2017 Resolutions

  1. If you are only 2 books behind your reading goal, then I say keep on going because at some point you’ll have some extra time you can devote to reading more and catch right up.

    Wicked good job of reading a classic a month. That is a tough goal to stick to and the fact that you’ve done it so far bodes really well for the rest of the year.

    Overall, it sounds like you are doing really well with your goals!

    Like

    • Yeah I’m now on track which is good! Well I haven’t read one this month but I’m sure I can still read 12 by the end of the year! 🙂 thank you

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

