The Ultimate Book Lovers Tag

Hi guys, how are you all? Today I have a book tag to share. This tag was created by the lovely Sam (aka Sam’s Nonsense) and as you can see from the title it is all about books.

 

1) Your top 3 favourite books

DSCN0171.JPG

Oh it’s so hard to pick favourites. I have so many but three of them are Watership Down by Richard Adams, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte and His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman. There are many more that I could mention though.

 

2) Your top 3 least favourite books
The first that come to mind are The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel, the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas and The Magicians by Lev Grossman, although I didn’t actually finish the last book. None of these books worked for me at all.

 

3) A popular author you love

DSCN0177.JPG

Well I think Robin Hobb is quite popular and I love her books – they are seriously amazing. I really need to continue on with the Rain Wild Chronicles so I can get back to Fitz and the Fool in the next trilogy. If you love fantasy you should definitely check out her books.

 

4) A popular author you don’t love
This has to go to Sarah J Maas. I just don’t get the appeal, but I see her books everywhere in the bookish community. I read the first two books in the Throne of Glass series and made it about a quarter of the way through the third book before realising I just really didn’t care. I haven’t read her other series and I don’t plan to.

 

5) An underrated book you think everyone should read

DSCN0179.JPG

This will probably come to no surprise if you’ve been following my blog for a while, but I am going with Fudoki by Kij Johnson. It is such a fantastic book and a wonderful mix of historical fiction and fantasy. I highly recommend it.

 

6) A series you won’t finish
Obviously the Throne of Glass series. Apart from that, I don’t think I’ll finish The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve read the first two books and I liked them but I’ve lost a bit of interest in finishing the series. There are many other books I want to get to.

 

7) Earliest bookish memory
To be honest, it’s not the greatest memory. I was told I had dyslexia when I was eight and I was a few years behind in terms of my reading ability, so I never really enjoyed reading when I was younger. So the earliest memory of reading myself is struggling through the reading books at school.

 

8) Favourite bookish memory
Probably my mum reading to me before bed. As I’ve already said I didn’t like reading myself when I was younger but I loved being read to.

 

9) You’re favourite genre to read
You guys probably know the answer to this one. Obviously it’s fantasy. The majority of the books I read are fantasy so it is definitely my favourite genre.

 

10) You’re least favourite genre to read
Probably romance. I don’t mind a bit of romance, but when a book is purely based around romance I’m just not interested. There are some exceptions – Austen’s books are pretty romance based but I love them. Most of the time though they just don’t work for me. I remember I read One Day by David Nicholls and I got so bored I gave up about halfway in.

 

11) One difficult or important book you’re proud to have read

DSCN0168

Maybe To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee… Not only for the racial issues raised but also the general propensity to judge people without knowing the full story. I think it is a very important book to read and it is just such a fantastic book.

 

12) You’re favourite childhood book

DSCN0181.JPG

I loved the Meg and Mog books written by Helen Nicoll and illustrated by Jan Pieńkowski. The books follow a witch Meg, her stripy cat Mog, and their friend Owl. I haven’t read all of them but the ones I did read I loved. I still own a few of these books.

 

13) You’re favourite book cover
I have so many, and I recently did a full post about some of my favourites which can check out here. I’ll pick a few others to share right now.

 

14) An ugly book cover
It’s not exactly ugly but it’s not a favourite of mine. I’m never a big fan of people on book covers.
DSC_0012

 

15) A Diverse book recommendation

DSCN0184.JPG

A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. The cast of characters are so interesting and diverse – the different cultures are also amazing. This is a very character driven and slower paced sci-fi book that is well worth a read. However if your looking for a action packed sci fi story, than this isn’t for you.

 

16) Why do you love to read
I think the main reason I love to read is the escapism of it. I love that you can settle down with a book and become so absorbed in it. I also love the things you can learn from reading. I just love it – I don’t really know how to explain it.

 

That’s the end of the tag. I really enjoyed coming up with the answers for this one – who doesn’t love talking about books, right? 🙂 I tag anyone who wants to do this tag. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Lovers Tag

  1. I also am not a huge fan of the Throne of Glass series, I am up to date with it though. I would say that her other series is the better one by miles. The first book is the weakest of the three but the other two are fab. I wouldn’t dismiss her entirely on the Throne of Glass series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I just don’t think I’ll ever get to her other series – there are so many other books I want to read more 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

