Luna: New Moon / Ian McDonald

Title / Luna: New Moon
Author / Ian McDonald
Publication Date / 2015
Overall Star Rating / 
Goodreads synopsis: The Moon wants to kill you.
Maybe it will kill you when the per diem for your allotted food, water, and air runs out, just before you hit paydirt. Maybe it will kill you when you are trapped between the reigning corporations-the Five Dragons-in a foolish gamble against a futuristic feudal society. On the Moon, you must fight for every inch you want to gain. And that is just what Adriana Corta did. As the leader of the Moon’s newest “dragon,” Adriana has wrested control of the Moon’s Helium-3 industry from the Mackenzie Metal corporation and fought to earn her family’s new status. Now, in the twilight of her life, Adriana finds her corporation-Corta Helio-confronted by the many enemies she made during her meteoric rise. If the Corta family is to survive, Adriana’s five children must defend their mother’s empire from her many enemies… and each other.

 

I know I did a pretty detailed mini review in my March wrap up but I had some more thoughts to share so I thought I would do a full review too – I hope that’s alright with you guys. I didn’t know too much about this book when I picked it up but I thought the blurb sounded so intriguing. I fully expected to love this book. As you can see from the star rating, it didn’t quite work out that way. First off, the premise of this book is amazing, which is why I thought I would love it and I think generally it is done quite well. The idea of powerful, warring families and the politics between them is something that I enjoy, but this one didn’t quite work for me. I think that was mainly due to the characters. While I thought they were interesting, I didn’t really care about any of them and I thought they were  a little underdeveloped. Another issue for me was keeping track of all the characters. There are quite a lot of them, so it was abit confusing at times keeping track of them all, especially because of the constant changes in perspective and tense. I found these regular changes to be jarring and took me out of the story. On the other hand I thought the world building was pretty well done and is one of the main strengths of this book, although I think it definitely had some holes in it. There were just a few things that I found a little confusing.

 

For me, the plot was a bit mediocre. I wasn’t grabbed by it at all and had to push myself to finish it, even though it’s not a particularly long book. I think it was stretched a little thin over all of the characters. I found that it dragged and I had to push myself to finish it. Another point to be aware of is the pacing – for me it was pretty off. There is quite a lot of slow build up, then an abrupt climax followed by an abrupt ending. Generally I don’t mind slower plots, but as I just mentioned in this it dragged and I found myself skimming some sections. The last thing I am going to mention is the excessive amount of sex/sexual scenes. I know sex happens and I don’t mind sex scenes but I don’t really want to know that Ariel only has sex with herself and have a whole scene about it, especially because it bears no relevance to the plot. There are quite a few other sex scenes dotted through the book that also bear no relevance and I just don’t see the point of them – they don’t need to be included. It is something to be aware of though. If you are not a fan of reading explicit sex scenes, than this is definitely not for you.
Overall I think this has a lot of potential but in the end I was a little disappointed by it. I think this is still worth a read, especially if you enjoy science fiction books, and it does have a lot of good review on Goodreads too. I think this is one of those books that is a bit hit or miss with people. In my case it was a big ol’ miss. In theory the premise is amazing, but in practice it just didn’t work. Have any of you guys read this book? I’d be interested to see what you thought. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

Leave a Reply

