April Wrap Up and May TBR

Hi guys, it’s time for another monthly wrap up. I had an alright reading month, although I would have preferred to have done more… but I got distracted by Horizon: Zero Dawn, which is awesome by the way. So I’ve been on the PlayStation a bit more this month. I did still manage to read 5 books so I’m pretty happy with that. Anyway let’s get onto the wrap up.

 

Guns of Dawn / Adrian Tchaikovsky / ★★  
I’m sad to say that I was a little disappointed with this one. If you’ve been following this blog for a while you may be aware of my love for 3 other books by this author but this one just didn’t work for me. I don’t really know why. I found it really quite slow, the pacing was abit off and the characters were only alright, in my opinion. The characters were quite cliched and a bit one dimensional. It definitely had potential, but something about it just didn’t quite work for me. I had to really push myself to finish this. Maybe it wasn’t the right time to read it, as I think this is still a good book – it just didn’t work for me. This one really confused me as I thought I was going to really enjoy it.

 

22299763

Crooked Kingdom / Leigh Bardugo / ★★★ 
While I did enjoy this conclusion overall, I didn’t love it. This is a good duology, but part of me was a little disappointed with it as I had heard so many good things. Having said that I did still enjoy it. I liked the ambiguous moral compass of the characters and the plot is generally engaging. There are also quite a few interesting characters within these two books – Inej is definitely a favourite of mine. The world was an interesting, the action is well done and overall I thought the plot progression was good. So I enjoyed this duology, but I think I was hoping for something more.

 

Tower Lord / Anthony Ryan / ★★★ 
This is the second book in the Raven Shadows trilogy. I have to say I was a little disappointed with this one, especially initially, but I found it did get better. I think the main issue I had was the switch of perspectives. In the first book we follow Vaelin as a solo narrative, but in this book we have four points of view throughout. This threw me a little bit, as I expected it to only follow Vaelin. I found that I didn’t fully connect with some of the characters, specifically Reva. I felt that her development was perhaps a little quick, especially in terms of her fighting ability. You know those super smart characters that seem to pick up fighting, whether its swords or archery, in a day or something – she’s a bit like that. Generally the character arcs were pretty well done. Although it took me a little while to get into it, the plot was generally engaging and the writing is easy to get into. I think Ryan is a great fantasy writer. Overall it was good, but I definitely preferred the first book. I am excited to see how things conclude in the next book.

 

Certainty / Madeleine Thien / ★★★.5
You guys may be aware that I read and loved Do Not Say We Have Nothing (also by Thien) at the start of the year, so I was interested to read her debut novel. It definitely hasn’t match my love for her latest book, but it was still a very good book. I think my main issue with this were the changes in perspective. For me it meant a bit of a lack of connection with the characters and it was a little hard to follow at times. It is also told mostly in flashback and I am not the biggest fan of that writing style. The characters are still interesting and I think Thien’s writing is fantastic. Overall this was a good book and I’m excited to try out her other book.

 

29348083

With Blood Upon the Sand / Bradley Beaulieu / ★★★★ 
I have to admit I was both excited and sceptical when I first started this book, as I struggled a bit with the first book, but I thought this was a great continuation. I think because the world is already established it was easier to get into the flow of things. The plot progression was great and I was hooked from early on. The character development was done very well. There are quite a few interesting characters and it was great to be back with them. Another massive strength of this book is the world – it is so intricate and unique. It is definitely one of my favourites at the moment.

 

DSCN0022.JPG

The Woman in White / Wilkie Collins / ★★★★ 
I have this on my tbr for a while now and I am so glad I’ve finally read it. I didn’t really know what to expect going into this, but I ended up loving it. It did take me a little while to get into, but as this was a new author to me I kind of expected that. However I was pretty intrigued about the progression of the plot early on – I wasn’t sure how things were going to unfold. This has a fantastic twisting plot, with characters to both root for and despise. It is quite dense and long, so if you are not a fan of Victorian writing and mutilate perspective narrative then this may not be the book for you. Otherwise I would recommend this to everyone. I really enjoyed this book.

 

Since I mostly ignored my TBR for last month, I think I’m not really going to set myself one for this month and just see what happens. Having said that, I obviously want to get to a classic. I’m currently torn between Sylvia’s Lovers by Elizabeth Gaskell and Germinal by Emile Zola, but there are a few others I can choose from too. Other than that I am just going to pick up what I feel like at the time. What was your favourite book you read in April? I hope you are all having a fantastic day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “April Wrap Up and May TBR

    • Well I’m between books right now so I figured I probably wouldn’t finish another book in the next few days… which is one it’s a bit early 🙂

      Like

  1. 5 books is pretty good! I finished 3 so far, almost done with the 4th, will see if I finish it in April still 😀

    I only ever read ‘Blood Song’ and didn’t feel like continuing with ‘Tower Lord’. I think I made the right decision because as much as I liked ‘Blood Song’, I thought it had a good ending on its own. And reviews for ‘Tower Lord’ have been pretty average.

    I will try Ryan’s new trilogy soon though 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

