De-cluttering Tips

Hi guys, so today I am doing something a little bit different. It’s spring time, which means that spring cleaning is possible happening and so I thought I would share some de-cluttering tips. I am by no means an expert on these things but I personally enjoy de-cluttering and organising my space and I wanted to share that with you guys. I have always loved organising things, although it can be quite daunting at times. Let’s get started.
  1. You have to be a bit brutal. If you are not using or wearing an item and if you haven’t used/read/watched it or didn’t like it then it’s probably time to get rid of it – especially if it’s been around for quite some time.
  2. When de-cluttering your wardrobe/draws, I personally like getting everything out onto the bed or floor. If you can’t do that then just go through piece by piece. Then create 3 piles – keep, maybe/try on and get rid of. Don’t hang onto things just because you feel guilty. I’ve done it quite a few times – where I’ve felt guilty of the waste of money but it’s done and someone else could be getting use out of it. There is no point in keeping it. If you are unsure I think it’s important to try it on -you may find some things you don’t think suit you anymore. Obviously throw things out that have holes, rips, stains etc.
  3. Ask yourself some questions. Start off with do you actually need it? 🙂  Have you used or worn it in the past six months or in the last year. For clothes you can ask other questions like, does it still fit or suit me anymore? Obviously some things you will want to keep anyway e.g. sentimental things, but these questions might be a good place to start.
  4. Find ways to utilise your space. Obviously I can’t tell you exactly what to do as I don’t know your storage situation, but if you have a small space or an awkward space then it’s important to make the most of the space you have. For example I don’t have a lot of storage space so I have two under bed storage boxes that I can use. You can get shelving units to hang in your wardrobe and shoe storage that can hang over a door etc.
  5. It takes time, especially if you are doing the whole house or apartment. If that is the case set weekly goals to help you keep motivated. Set aside a day or weekend to do certain areas but make sure to be realistic with those goals.
  6. It’s never going to be perfect, but it will be organised and functional. Make the best of what you have available and make the space something you are happy with.
There you have it – six de-cluttering tips for you guys. Depending on your preference, you can either do this alone or bring in a friend or family member to help out. As I’ve said I personally love organising stuff so it was quite fun doing this post. Let me know if you have any other tips to share. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

2 thoughts on “De-cluttering Tips

  1. I’m a massive hoarder, I keep everything and struggle to throw anything away… Recently, though, I’ve been toying with the idea of giving the house a real good sort out and getting rid of what I don’t need… Might have to utilise your tips for future! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I can be a bit of a hoarder sometimes too! 😄 well good luck with it if you do it! It can definitely be quite daunting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

