UK vs US Book Covers

Hi guys, today I have a bit of a different post. I’ve seen similar posts or videos around in the bookish community and I thought it was quite a cool idea, so I thought I’d do my own post. Obviously this is going to be my opinion of which covers I prefer, so you guys might think differently. I’ve decided to pick books that are coming out this year to compare today – US is on the left and UK is on the right.

 

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence – While I like both of these I definitely prefer the UK cover. I am never a huge fan of people on the cover and I just love the way the UK cover looks – I think the colours work so well. Having said that the US cover probably suits the book better, but the UK one is still my favourite. Also the book itself is really good… definitely recommend checking it out.

 

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katharine Arden – Both of these books are stunning, but I prefer the US cover. I love the wintery feel, the blue of the cover and the way the title is presented. This is definitely a favourite cover of mine, even though I don’t actually own it. Again this was a fantastic book.

 

With Blood Upon the Sand by Bradley Beaulieu –  This is the second book in the Song of the Shattered Sands series. I haven’t read this one yet but hopefully I’ll get to it soon… I’m going to go with the UK cover here. I just like the way it looks and the colours.

 

Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi – Again I like both of these covers, but for this one I am going to have to give it to the US. I like the colours of the US better than the green of the UK cover and so I just like it a little more. I have read this one and really enjoyed it, although it did take me a little while to get into it.

 

Legion of Flame by Anthony Ryan – This is the second book 2 in the Draconis Memoria series. Now I’m not entirely sure if the UK cover is the actual cover as I can’t seem to verify it, but I hope it is as it looks amazing. I really like both of these covers, but the (possible) UK cover is definitely my favourite. This one hasn’t been released yet so I haven’t read it but I am very excited for it’s release in July.

 

So that is all I have for you today… US covers 2 to UK covers 3 so UK win this time. What do you guys think? Do you prefer the US covers or UK covers? I quite like these posts so you might see another one for me in the future. That’s if you guys want more :). Maybe I’ll add in some other countries as well. Anyway I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

8 thoughts on “UK vs US Book Covers

Leave a Reply

