The Bone Season Book Tag (Original)

Hi guys, as you may or may not know one of my favourite series is the Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon, so of course I have created a tag all about it. The third book in the series, The Song Rising, is being released tomorrow and it is such an amazing book. If you haven’t read this series yet, please give it a go! It is so good. Let’s get onto the questions.

DSC_0001.JPG

1. The Bone Season – favourite dystopian setting or if you don’t read many dystopian favourite first book in a series.
Well apart the Bone Season series itself, a fantastic dystopian setting is definitely The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It is one of my favourite books and I think we can take so much out of it. The setting is a pretty scary one, where women have very little rights. If you are a fan of dystopian books then you need to check out this book. I hope to read more Atwood this year as I’ve only read two books by her.

 

2. The Mime Order – pick a book that finished on a cliffhanger ending
The first book that comes to mind is Golden Son by Pierce Brown, which is the second book in the Red Rising trilogy. There are so many shocking moments in this trilogy but the ending of book 2 definitely left you wanting more. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the third and final book.

 

3. The Song Rising – since it’s coming out tomorrow, pick a book that you are highly anticipated this year
Obviously the release of The Song Rising is extremely exciting, but another book I am highly anticipating is another book that is coming out tomorrow – Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan. I read the Powder Mage trilogy by the same author last year sometime and loved it, so I’m excited to try to this new series.

 

4. The Pale Dreamer – pick a favourite novella or short story
The Emperor’s Soul is a fantastic novella by Brandon Sanderson, that is set in the same world as Elantris. As always with Sanderson, the writing is wonderful. I thought the characters were so well written and intriguing. It’s only about 170 pages long but everything is so well done. I highly recommend checking it out.

 

5. Paige Mahoney – pick you favourite heroine 
A new favourite of mine is Maniye from the Echoes of the Fallen series by Adrian Tchaikovsky – book 1 is The Tiger and the Wolf and book 2 is The Bear and the Serpent. Her development throughout the first two books have been fantastic and I just love her character. Obviously Paige is another favourite of mine :).

 

6. Warden – pick your favourite unlikely love interest
In an attempt not to spoil anything, I am going to say Tavi’s love interest in the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher. I love this series and the romance is fantastic, but they are from two very different cultures and in that sense it is quite an unlikely pairing. I think their relationship is one of the many highlights of this series.

 

7. Clairvoyance – what type of clairvoyant do you think you would be or if you haven’t read the series yet what power would you choose if you could
I think I would be a Sensor or an Augur. I am quite sensitive to things around me – I’ve had a sensory questionnaire done and I had no normal responses, so it makes sense to me that I would be a Sensor. An Augur seemed like the next logical answer. A power I would choose is definitely the power of healing. I have always liked the idea of being able to heal.

 

8. Join the Revolution – pick you favourite action packed book.
Well I could answer with the Red Rising trilogy again but I’m trying not to repeat myself. Instead I think the action in the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson was done very well. I especially loved the action scenes with the Mistborns using their powers. If you haven’t read this trilogy already, I highly recommend it.

 

There you have it – the Bone Season Book Tag. I am going to be tagging some people to do this but I also tag anyone who wants to do. I would love to see your answers, so be sure to leave me linked down below or tweet me a link. Before I go I want to express my love for this series again. All three of the books that are released are fantastic and I am so excited to see where it will go next. Seriously read it – you won’t regret it. I hope you are having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

Leave a Reply

