February Wrap Up and March TBR

Hi guys, so it’s the end of another month and that means it’s time to talk about the books I’ve read. Compared to the number of books I have been reading, this month wasn’t so good but I did still manage to read 5 books. I’m pretty happy with that, especially as one of the took me over a month to read. They are all 3 star ratings or higher as well, so the content was pretty good. I’m hoping next month I’ll get back into the flow of reading more but we’ll see. Onto the five books.

 

24234912

Jaeth’s Eye / K. S. Villoso 
*The author was kind enough to send me a digital copy in exchange for an honest review*
I thought this was a good start to a series and the mix of characters was very well done. I have to admit I was not entirely grabbed by the story or characters and I can’t say why but I don’t want to affect you too much as it is a good book. I think the characters are one of the main strengths of this book. There are quite a few interesting characters, some you like and others you don’t but they are all well written. I did get a little confused at times but it generally sorted itself out. As it is the first book I think there is just alot that is going on in terms of plot, world building, meeting characters etc. I thought the world building was done quite well. The writing is easy to get into and I had no issues with it. Overall this is a solid first book in this trilogy and I would be interested to see where it goes next. I would recommend this, especially you enjoy fantasy books.

 

 32969986
Runemark / Joanne Harris / .5
I would give this a 3.5 star rating. This was my first book by this author and I ended up enjoying it. I think it was dragged out a little bit and could definitely have been shorter but the story is generally engaging.. I loved the elements of Norse mythology and thought the characterisations were great. I especially enjoyed the character of Loki. The writing is easy to get into and I liked the inclusion of the runes. Overall I thought this was a good book, if a little long. I think I could have a got a better understanding of things if I had more knowledge of Norse mythology but it is not necessary.

 

DSC_0088.JPG

Anna Karenina / Leo Tolstoy / 
 I decided to pick this up after reading and loving War and Peace, and like W&P this was surprisingly readable. The characters are wonderfully written – they are complex and flawed. I wasn’t much of a fan of Anna but she is an interesting character. The plot is engaging throughout and once again the writing is fantastic. I will say I didn’t enjoy this quite as much as I loved W&P, but this is still an excellent book. I don’t have much more to say, other than it’s well worth a read.

 

DSC_0094.JPG

Daughter of the Forest / Juliet Maurillier / 
This was my first book by this author and I will definitely be checking out her other books I will warn you of the sexual assault in this book as I think it is important to have trigger warnings.Back to the review –  I thought this book was fantastic. I think this based on a Irish legend/fairy tale but I do not know the original so I can’t comment on any similarities. The characters were so well written – all of them have flaws and I enjoyed how they all progressed through the book. One of the main things I loved about this book was the setting – it’s set in medieval Ireland. I will say I wasn’t a huge fan of the Fair Folk but it was an interesting depiction and worked well for the story. It did drag a little for me in certain places but if you don’t mind some slower pacing then it won’t detract anything overall. It was also a little repetitive at times. Overall I ended up loving this book and would definitely recommend it.

 

DSC_0096.JPG

Lord of the Darkwood / Lian Hearn / 
If you have seen my most anticipated book releases 2017 post, than you will know that this was on that list. I loved the first book, so had high expectations for this one and it didn’t disappoint. The characters are well written and complex, the setting is amazing and the plot is engaging throughout. It did take me a little while to get into, as I should have reread the first book to give myself a refresher but I still loved this book so much. I highly recommend this book/series and the covers are stunning.
In terms of my tbr I want to pick up the books from last months tbr that I didn’t get to. They include Dissolution by C. J. Sansom, Luna: New Moon by Ian McDonald and The Snack Thief by Andrea Camilleri. My classic pick of the month is probably going to be Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon, but I may pick up something else. I am currently reading Red Sister by Mark Lawrence, so obviously I would like to finish that. Two other fantasy books I’d like to get to are The Diamond Throne by David Eddings and The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams. I figure if I’m ambitious with my tbr it might motivate me to do more reading :). Did you guys have a good reading month? What was your favourite book you read? I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

One thought on “February Wrap Up and March TBR

  1. I loved ‘Daughter of the Forest’ as well! And the second part of the series is just as good if you ask me 😉 Not a huge fan of the third, but it’s starting to get better again after that. And it’s so nice that you always go back to the same places & characters..

    ‘The Ninth Rain’ is also on my to-read list. I wanted to check out ‘The Copper Promise’ before though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

