5 reasons to read the Old Kingdom trilogy by Garth Nix

Hi guys, how are you? It’s time for me to share another review and I thought it was about time I talked about one of my all time favourite series. This isn’t going to be a full review but I’m going to share a mini review in the form of 5 reasons to read it. I first read this series when I was in my mid teens and I have loved it ever since. This trilogy focuses on two Abhorsen over a span of about 30 years as they fight evil. An Abhorsen is a hereditary position who fights necromancers, the Dead and Free Magic creatures to protect humanity. In book one we meet Sabriel as she sets out to save her father (the Abhorsen), who is trapped in death.  A prequel novel Clariel came out in 2014 and a sequel novel Goldenhand came out in 2016, both of which I would highly recommend. I will always remember this trilogy as the books that got me into fantasy, and reading in general, so I hold this trilogy in a special place in my heart for that. 🙂 Onto the review.

DSC_0010.JPG

  1. The plot is fantastic, the characters are incredibly well written and the world is wonderfully built. It is one of my favourite worlds in fantasy book.
  2. It also has one of my favourite magic systems in fantasy books. There is two types: Charter Magic and Free magic.  The Abhorsen use bells to fight against the Dead and Free Magic creature –  there are seven bells and each bell has different powers.
  3. As I previously mentioned this is one of my all time favourite series so that is a reason in itself for me to recommend to you guys. 🙂
  4. One thing I love about this series is the equality of the male and female characters. No one is seen as superior in any way. They complement and help each other – the main male and female character work very well together. I enjoyed these relationships, if that makes sense.
  5. The writing is fantastic and will keep you hooked until the very end. Nix’s does a wonderful job of creating tension and pulling us into this world.
I can’t say enough good things about this trilogy and the other books associated with it. It is, and will continue to be, one of my all time favourite series. I first read it when I was going through quite a hard time and it was so wonderful to be able to escape into these books. Have you guys read these books? What did you think? I hope you are having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

6 thoughts on “5 reasons to read the Old Kingdom trilogy by Garth Nix

  1. I started reading the first book for some time ago, but for some reason I put it down. It wasn’t that it wasn’t any good (I hadn’t even gotten that far), I think things in life just happened and now I’ve forgotten about it haha. But now I’m feeling very compelled to start reading it again! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

