Recommendations: More Fantasy

Hi guys, I hope this finds you well. You will all be surprised that I have more fantasy recommendations to share with you today :). I think it is well known by now that I read alot of fantasy. There are so many great fantasy books out there and since it is primarily what I read there are so many favourites that I want to share with you guys. Let me know if you guys are getting bored of these fantasy recommendations, as I have done quite a few now. So if you think I am missing any fantasy books then they may be on my other lists 🙂 – favourite series, where to start (fantasy), part 1 and part 2. As with the other posts I will be talking about five fantasy books or series, so let’s get started.

 

DSC_0015 (2)

Fudoki / Kij Johnson / 
I take every opportunity to talk about this book because it was just so good. I read this at the beginning of the year and it has remained one of my favourite books I’ve read this year. It is a wonderful mix of fantasy and historical fiction. I adore this book so much and I think it is so underrated. I am going to leave it at that as I feel like I’ve mentioned this book so many times in the past year 🙂 – you can check out my full review here.

 

The Tiger and the Wolf / Adrian Tchaikovsky / Echoes of the Fallen Book 1 / 
 This was such an incredible first book in this series. I have to admit that I picked this book up on a bit of a whim and I am so glad I did. It contains a unique and interesting world, well written and complex characters and an engaging plot. I will say that it is a little bit of a set up book, as there is alot of information. However I wasn’t particularly bothered by the slow start due to the amount of information. Again this is going to be up there on my list of favourite books I’ve read this year. I am so excited for the next book in this series – The Bear and the Serpent which is set to be released in February.

 

The Grace of Kings and The Wall of Storms / Ken Liu / Dandelion Dynasty Book 1 and 2 / 
Again this is a currently unfinished trilogy – the first two books are out and I have read them both, but the third is yet to be released. I thought that I would mention it anyway. It was a wonderful introduction into this new world with a engaging plot and interesting characters. I have to admit it did take me a little bit to get into it but due to the richness of the world it didn’t bother me too much – it just takes a few chapters to get used to the world and writing style. Again I have a full review of book 1 so I am going to keep this short.

 

Six of Crows / Leigh Bardugo / Six of Crows Book 1 / 
Once again this is a currently unfinished series but the second and final book is released, so I hope to get to it soon. There are some really interesting characters introduced in the first book and the plot was engaging. It is also just a very enjoyable read. I have heard so many good things about this series so I have high hopes for the conclusion.

 

DSC_0030

The Lord of the Rings trilogy / J. R. R. Tolkien / 
This is a classic trilogy in terms of the fantasy genre and while it is not perfect, it is definitely well worth a read. I found it interesting to see where a lot of inspiration for the fantasy genre came from. It is a dense read and it did take me some time – it does drag in places. Having said that, if you are a big fan of the fantasy genre then I would recommend reading it.

 

I think I am actually starting to run out of fantasy books to recommend now 🙂 but I’m sure I’ll have more to recommend soon. I would love to know whether you guys have any recommendations – I am always up for trying out new fantasy books, but you probably know that already. There are so many fantasy books and series I want to read, it’s sometimes hard to keep track of them all! I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

4 thoughts on “Recommendations: More Fantasy

Leave a Reply

