3 Mini YA Reviews

Hi guys, how are you all doing? It’s Friday which means it is time for another review. I am sure you are all expecting that :). For this post I will be doing 3 mini reviews of some YA books – they are all the first book in a series. So far I have obviously already read the first book but I haven’t gotten any further in each series and I don’t know if I’ll continue with all of them – I have provided pictures of all of the books in the series, but don’t be fooled it’s not a series review though :). Onto the reviews.
Burning Sky / Sherry Thomas / 
I actually ended up enjoying this more than I thought I would. It was not perfect but it was quite enjoyable. This is the authors first fantasy book and I think it shows, so I would say be patient with this book – it does get better. The author seems alot more comfortable when writing about the Victorian England setting, then when she’s writing about the action scenes, the magic systems etc. On the other hand the characters are all well written and engaging, however my one minor complaint would be that the two main characters are a little two perfect. I will say the world is quite poorly crafted but I hope that is rectified a bit in the other books in this trilogy. I am interested in continuing this trilogy but it keeps be pushed to the side so I can read other things. I do still want to at least try out the second book to see if I want to conclude this trilogy. Goodreads page

 

Soulless / Gail Carriger / 
I had heard a lot of good things about this series, however it really did not work for me. Granted I did only read the first book but I don’t see myself reading the next book. The characters are pretty well written, the concept is an interesting one and the writing is good, although a little clumsy at times. Having said that, this is just one of those books that didn’t work for me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters – to be honest I just really didn’t care about any of it. I am definitely in the minority with this book and series though, so don’t let me stop you reading it. Overall it was a very average for me and I won’t be continuing on with this series. Goodreads page

 

 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone / Laini Taylor / 
I had been debating whether or not to read this trilogy as it has got alot of love. I finally decided to give it a go and to be honest it is quite a mixed book for me. It’s probably more of a 2.5 star rating. I loved the setting of Prague – as it is one of my all time favourite places and the beginning of the book seemed quite promising. It got a bit insta-lovey once the love interest was introduced, which I personally don’t like and so that detracted from the story a little. It just became a little too romance focused. The characters are all quite interesting, as well as being well written. The writing is good, so I would definitely read more from the author, but the ending was pretty predictable. I have started the second book in the series on my kindle but I got about 20% in and decided to take a break from it. I will probably try again as I do want to know what happens but it was just so slow – I was kind of bored and Karou was a bit annoying.

 

That’s it for today. I hope to continue two of these series but I don’t know when I’ll get to them. Let me know your thoughts on these two trilogies and maybe you can persuade me to read them sooner :). There are just so many books I want to read! I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 


2 thoughts on “3 Mini YA Reviews

  1. I’ve just recently read Daughter of Smoke and Bone too! I was slightly disappointed too. I thought I would like it more considering all the rave reviews it has gotten from my favourite reviewers. But I really love the friendship between Karou and Zuzana! Anyway I think I’m still going to continue the series because I heard it gets better! BTW for good YA Fantasy, you should try Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! To be honest I haven’t read it; I’ve read the Grisha trilogy by her and it was amazing, but heard that Six of Crows is even better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I enjoyed their friendship too! I have read Six of Crows and loved it but I still need to read Crooked Kingdoms!

      Like

Leave a comment