January Wrap Up and February TBR

Hi guys it’s that time of the month again. Well it’s not that time of the month 🙂 but it is time for my wrap up. Fortunately I had another great reading month, although I didn’t quite get to reading ten books this time. I did still manage to read 6 books which I am pretty happy with. It was also great to start of this year with some great books – the first book I read is definitely a new favourite of mine. Before I ramble on about things, I am just going to start talking about the books.

 

Pulse: The Trial / R. A. Crawford /  
*The author was kind enough to send me a digital copy in exchange for an honest review*
For the most part I enjoyed this book. The world this book is set in is an intriguing one, however I would have liked more information about it. I feel like more detail would have given me a much better grasp of the world. The plot was mostly engaging and fast paced – I found it to be a quick and easy read. Where this book falls down for me is the characters. I just didn’t really care about them. I did not like Stella, who is one of the main character and so that made the reading process a little jarring. The constant reminder of how close Faye and Stella was a bit overkill in my opinion. However it is great to see a book full of strong female characters. So overall, I liked it but it fell a little flat for me, but if it sounds interesting to you I would still recommend checking it out. As I read this on my kindle I don’t have any pictures of it – the above pictures are sourced from Goodreads.

 

31211577.jpg

From Ice to Ashes / Rhett C. Bruno / ★.5
*The author was kind enough to send me a digital copy in exchange for an honest review*
I enjoyed this science fiction standalone. The world was an intriguing, so it would be interesting to read Titanborn which is set in the same world. However I have to admit that I just didn’t quite engage with the story and characters completely. Maybe this is because I haven’t read Titanborn – I don’t know. I just wasn’t grabbed by the plot. The characters were well written and engaging but theu did just fall a little flat for me. I don’t want to let that dissuade though as this is a good book.  If you are a big sci-fi reader and like plots about revolutions then you should check this out. As I read this on my kindle I don’t have any pictures of it – the above pictures are sourced from Goodreads.

 

Dawn Study / Maria V. Snyder / ★.5
*I received a digital copy of this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
I thought this was a great conclusion to the Study series, but it wasn’t perfect and I can’t quite put my finger on why. I liked the character progression, however I never truly felt that the characters were in any real danger. This took away a bit of the tension, and therefore enjoyment of it, as the ending felt a little too easy. The plot was mostly engaging, although it did drag in a few places. Having said that I did enjoy this book and I would recommend this series. If you have loved the previous books I think you will enjoy this conclusion. As I read this on my kindle I don’t have any pictures of it – the above pictures are sourced from Goodreads.

 

The Collapsing Empire / John Scalzi / ★.5
*I received a digital copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
Having enjoyed quite a few of Scalzi’s previous books, I was excited for this new release. It didn’t disappoint. I have to admit it did take me a little while to get into it but after about the first quarter of the book I was fully engaged with it. The characters are well written, the world is interesting and the plot is good. Although it did take me a little while to warm to some of the characters. I will say the amount of swearing did get on my nerves a little. Don’t get me wrong I don’t mind swearing (I swear quite a lot) but it just seemed a bit excessive. Overall I really enjoyed this and I am looking forward to seeing where the story will go next. If you are a big fan of sci-fi and/or Scalzi I think you like enjoy this. As I read this on my kindle I don’t have any pictures of it – the above pictures are sourced from Goodreads.

 

Stamboul Train / Graham Greene / 
This is my second Greene book and I definitely enjoyed this one more than the first. The main strength of this book was the characters. Each one is intriguing, well written and engaging – I didn’t really like a lot of them but they make interesting character studies. The writing is great and the plot is mostly engaging. That’s all I really have to say about this one for now. I hope to try out more Greene in the future.

 

Blood Song / Anthony Ryan / 
This is the first book in the Raven Shadows trilogy. I read The Waking Fire by Anthony Ryan last year and really enjoyed it, so I wanted to check it his other books. I thought this was a great first book to this trilogy. I found the plot engaging, the characters are well written and the world is an intriguing one. It is perhaps a little predictable in some areas but it is still a very enjoyable read. I don’t have a lot more to say about this one – other than I thought it was great and I will be continuing on with this trilogy.

 

Do Not Say We Have Nothing / Madeleine Thien / 
I am going to say immediately that this was a wonderful read and I highly recommend it. This book contains an epic tale of love, friendship, music and revolution. It is artfully crafted with fantastic writing and an amazing attention for details. I didn’t know anything about the events this book is based on but I learnt alot from reading it. I had no issues with understanding the story so I would say you don’t need any prior knowledge, but it may help to get a deeper understanding. My only issue is a small one and it is that Marie’s narrative was perhaps a little less compelling. However overall I found this to be an engaging read that had me hooked very early on. As I’ve said I highly recommend this book.

 

30139026-1

The Bear and the Serpent / Adrian Tchaikovsky / 
*I received a digital copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
This is the second book in the Echoes of the Fallen series – it is released in hardback on 9th February.  The first book, The Tiger and the Wolf, was one of my favourite books of last year so of course I was excited for this release.  I had high expectations and it did not disappoint. As it is the second book the world is already established, so you can really settle down into the characters and the plot. The world is one of my favourite things about this series – it is so rich, diverse and interesting. The development of the characters was great, the plot engaging throughout and the writing is great. There are so many amazing characters in this series and such a diverse range of people. I will say I would have liked more of Maniye as she is one of my favourite characters but that is a minor complaint. Overall I highly recommend checking this series out, especially if you are a big fan of fantasy. I am very excited for the next book in the series whenever it comes out.

DSC_0032.JPG

This month I am going to be trying out something a little different for my tbr. I have chosen a book each for a certain genre with the hope this will motivate me to read them all. So I have chosen the genres of fantasy, sci-fi, historical fiction, classics and crime/thriller and the books I have chosen are (in order of the genres) Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn, Luna by Ian McDonald, Dissolution by C. J. Sanson, Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Snack Thief by Andrea Camilleri. I probably won’t be able to get to all of these, especially considering how big Anna Karenina is, but one can hope right? 🙂 I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

3 thoughts on “January Wrap Up and February TBR

Leave a Reply

