Discussion: Rereads

Hi guys, I thought it is about time for another discussion post. This time I am going to be chatting with you guys about rereading. I have always been a rereader. Personally, I love visiting worlds I know and love. So far I haven’t got bored of a book because of rereading it, although I wouldn’t say it will never happen. Let’s talk about rereading books.

 

I spent a lot of my teenage years rereading some of my favourite books. At the time, I was going through a hard time and I think I found it comforting to go back into a familiar world. I have always liked rereading books. I think it can be also quite interesting to reread books, especially books from when you were younger. You can see how your tastes can change and evolve, but you can still appreciate the books you loved earlier in life. I’ve reread many books from my teenager years – as I am now a more critical reader,Β Β I can perhaps see issues with the books I loved but they can still be some of my favourite books. Not book is perfect after all. I hope that makes sense :).Β I also love watching my favourite films more than once and listening to the same music alot. I understand the argument of not rereading books, but I personally enjoy doing it. As long as I enjoy doing it, then I will continue to do so. It’s really up to personal preference. It doesn’t matter either way, as long as you do what you want to do

 

Let’s continue the discussion. Do you guys like rereading books or do you just read books once? Let me know your thoughts on rereading books. I’m sorry this post is so short – I thought I had more to say than I actually did. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

13 thoughts on “Discussion: Rereads

  1. I’ve always reread books! When I was younger I used to get most of my books from the library in my little town, and once the librarian asked if I was sure I didn’t want to try something new, as I was getting the same books and series so often! That goes for audio books as well. I can’t concentrate on audiobooks now, the way I did when I was little, so now I mainly just listen to Stephen Fry reading the Harry Potter books over and over – if I can’t sleep or on my way to uni or while cooking or cleaning! I love rereading books, sometimes I just get in a mood where I really want to relive a story that I read a year ago or five years ago! πŸ˜€ As of right now I’m not rereading anything, I’m reading all of Jojo Moyes’ books for the first time, but after that it might be time for me to reread something again!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I do too! In 2014 I read 30 books, in 2015 I only just managed to finish 58, but last year I was down to 37 again… I’ve finished 5 books so far this year though, so I’m hopeful! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. The only books I consistently reread are Harry Potter… And The Great Gatsby every Christmas. Maybe people reread because they want to return/chase a feeling they once experienced? I know I look for my childhood between the pages in Harry Potter. Books, to me, are like time capsules that can hold onto memories that you remember when you revisit them. I say all this abstract crap but I’m currently rereading LOTR and ASOIAF because I read them SO long ago I don’t remember anything. Really interesting topic πŸ€”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah that’s another interesting thought… if you haven’t read it for years will you still feel the same way about it? I’m hoping to do some rereading this year too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually did a post about rereading books a while back. I do love to reread books to see how my thoughts and feelings about them have changed, or if they have changed.

    Like

  4. I never re-read books until I was in my last year of high school. I had already read those books, and there were so many new books to read, that it felt like a waste of time. And then I ended up reading Pride and Prejudice for the second time for a class project, and I realised how much you could get out of a book on a re-read. Now I only re-read my favourites, or if I have absolutely no recollection what happened because I read it so long ago. Because the TBR is ever growing, so I cant just keep reading my favourites

    Like

  5. If I give out a 5 star rating on a book, it’s generally because I’ve rated it ‘re-readable’ on top of everything else. I love to re-read books, but I’m super picky about the pool that I re-read from.

    Like

    • Yeah if I rate a book five stars it’s definitely going to be rereadable! I love to reread too, although I don’t think I’ve done any this year! I’ll have to change that πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

