Underrated Book Tag

Hi guys how are you all today? It is day 11 of blogmas :). As the title suggests, today I am talking about some underrated books. I have no idea who created this tag so sorry about that, but I thought it was a great tag for me to do, so here we are :). What constitutes a underrated book is pretty subjective, so I am going to be sharing some books that I don’t see enough in the bookish community. Let’s get started.

 

A favourite book you find underrated?
Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi. It is such an enjoyable book but I haven’t really seen it around in the book blog/vlog world. I don’t know, maybe I’m just looking in the wrong places, but I highly recommend this book. This was my first Scalzi book and I am now a huge fan of this author.

 

An underrated book I’d want to make into a movie?
The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness by Michelle Paver. I think this would make a great film or tv series and I absolutely love this series. I think it is marketed for younger readers, but it can be enjoyed by a variety of readers and ages (at least I think so). An animated film or tv would work really well I think.

 

A favourite author that more people should know?
There are so many authors I love but I think I am going to go with Brian McClellan. At the start of this year I read his Powder Mage trilogy and loved it, but I haven’t seen it around at all so… I also absolutely adore Garth Nix and Trudi Canavan but I think they are quite well known… I really don’t know.

One book that I’d choose to promote and make well known?
Fudoki by Kij Johnson. You guys should know my love for this book by now :). I feel like I can’t recommend this book enough. I was immediately engaged with the writing, the plot and the characters – normally it takes me a little while to get into a new authors writing but that wasn’t true with this book. I have a full non-spoiler review which you can check out here. Go read this book – you won’t regret it.

 

A book series that is underrated?
The Pellinor series by Alison Croggon. I absolutely adore this series but I just don’t see it talked about. This series has such amazing characters and a engaging plot – it is amazing. Seriously go read it. I mean, I love it so much I created a tag about it – Pellinor Book Tag (Original).

 

A favourite character in an underrated book?
Kitai from the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher. She is an incredible character and it is so enjoyable to see her character arc throughout the six books. She is one of my favourite female characters . I definitely recommend this series as well.

 

What book character would you like to turn into a real life celebrity?
I don’t really know: it’s not something I’ve thought about so I think I’m going to pass.

 

Do I like to keep unknown books a secret, or share them with the world?
Definitely share them with the world. I think they deserve more attention and appreciation.

 

That is the underrated book tag. It was kind of tricky to answer these questions as it’s kind of subjective as to what is underrated. If that makes sense – what makes a book or author underrated? I don’t really know but I answered the questions to the best of my abilities :). Let me know if you have any underrated books or author to recommend me and I hope you have a great day.

 

See you next time

 

Pippa

 

2 thoughts on “Underrated Book Tag

Leave a Reply

