Recommendations: Historical Fiction

Hi guys, welcome to day 4 of blogmas. It’s just three weeks till Christmas today and I am happy to report that most of the Christmas shopping is done – I’m feeling pretty organised :). Anyway onto the purpose of this post –  it is time for some more recommendations. I have done quite a few of these since starting my blog, but I haven’t yet done one about historical fiction. Today I am changing that. While I do enjoy historical fiction, I haven’t actually read that much of the genre but I definitely hope to read more. I think it’s just one of the genres for me that can be pushed to the side a bit. Hopefully I’ll read more in 2017. Onto the five recommendations.

469959

The Siege / Helen Dunmore
Set during the Nazis’ 1941 winter siege of Leningrad, this is not an easy read. It is well worth it though. If you are interested in this time period or if you enjoy a gripping, well written story of love and survival then you should definitely check out this book. The characters are wonderful, the plot is compelling and the writing is great. It did take me a little while to get into, but overall I found this book to be a great read. I highly recommend this book. I think there is a sequel to this book, but I have yet to read it. I have also read Exposure by the same author and would recommend it to – it is set in London in 1960.

 

dsc_0010

The Book Thief / Markus Zusak
This is probably an obvious suggestion, but I thought I’d include it anyway. This book is set in Germany during World War II. I read it earlier this year and I ended up loving it. The fact that it is narrated by Death is one of my favourite things about this book. It is quite a slow book, but if you don’t mind a slower pace than I think you’ll enjoy this. The characters are wonderfully well written and you become invested in them throughout reading this book.

 

6101139

Wolf Hall / Hilary Mantel
Set in England during the reign of Henry VIII, this chronicles the life of Thomas Cromwell. This is the first book in the Cromwell trilogy – the third and final book is yet to be released. I actually started reading this after seeing the BBC adaptation of this book and really enjoying it. The writing took a little getting used to and it is a bit of work keeping track of all of the characters – during this time period alot of people had the same names. Having said that, this book is well worth a read. I find Thomas Cromwell to be a very interesting historical figure, so I really enjoyed reading these books. I also highly recommend the BBC adaptation – Mark Rylance is amazing!

 

7824322

Between Shades of Grey / Ruta Sepetys
This is another book set during World War II, but it is a part that I knew very little about. It is about Lithuanians displaced to Siberian work camps during war – we follow Lina and her family as they are taken from their home. Once again this is not an easy read, but it is well worth a read. The narrative style took a little getting used to for me, so be aware that the chapters are very short. After a while I ended up liking the chapter length – it made sense to me. If Lina was writing it herself, she would only have had brief times to write without being discovered. I think this book is wonderful and I highly recommend it.

 

dsc_0011-1

The Song of Achilles / Madeline Miller
Set in Greece, before and during the Trojan War, this follows Patroclus and Achilles. As someone with an interest in Greek mythology, this was an interesting look into a story that I already knew. I have to admit that I did take me a little while to get into this book, but you can’t deny that this book is beautifully written. The character development is also wonderful.

 

I hope to read more historical fiction in the future, so if you have any recommendations for me they would be very much appreciated. I just don’t tend to reach for a lot of historical fiction – I don’t really know why. Anyway I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

6 thoughts on “Recommendations: Historical Fiction

  1. The Book Thief is one of my all time favourites! I remember just bawling my eyes out while reading it. Funny how that’s a good book memory to a bookworm. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

