Discussion: Why I Love Fantasy

Hi guys, today I thought it was time for another discussion post. I thought I would give some thoughts on why I love fantasy. I have pretty much always been a fantasy reader, so I thought it would be interesting to discuss with you all the reason that we love reading fantasy books. I think that fantasy can be quite intimidating, as it encompasses such a wide range of books, and it is also quite marmite thing, I think – you either love it or kind of hate it. I don’t really believe that anyone can say that they don’t like the fantasy genre – I am sure if you read enough of them, you would find something you liked. In a way, I think it’s like classics – there are such a wide range of books that fit into the genre, that there will be something for everyone. I know it is probably intimidating, but it is just a case of trying out different books and not giving up if one of the books didn’t work for you.

 

One of the main reasons I love reading fantasy is the escapism of it. I started reading fantasy when I was teenager and going through a hard time in my life, so I loved diving into these amazing new worlds. I find it so interesting to see how our imaginations can create all these different characters, worlds, magic systems etc. The imaginative nature of fantasy is another of my favourite things – it is so fun it see where it can take us. I love that if you are having a hard day or week then you can escape into these amazing worlds. Sometimes you just want to get away from all the rubbish stuff that happens in our world – I mean there may be rubbish stuff going on in the fantasy world as well, but somehow that is completely different. It is also amazing how innovative it can be – I guess that links in to the imaginative nature of fantasy. There is so much you can do, because it is not set in our world, it doesn’t necessarily have to accommodate our science or rules etc. Anything is possible with fantasy. This also means that it is such a wide range of the fantasy genre. There are so many sub genres and new twists in the genre – I love the variety of this genre.  The last reason I love fantasy is that it can be used as commentary as what is going on in our world. It can take social commentary to a whole new level, in the sense that it can highlight these issues in different ways and makes you see them from a different perspective.

 

Let’s continue the discussion in the comments 🙂 – do you think I’ve missed anything? Why do you love the fantasy genre? I am really interested in what you guys think. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

2 thoughts on “Discussion: Why I Love Fantasy

  1. I completely agree with you!
    Fantasy has become such a fundamental part of my life (be it books or videogames or TV shows) and I don’t think I’ll ever give it up. I feel like you can talk about very real and worldly problems in fantasy without the inconvenience of having to reference real-life facts. Authors that can do that in contemporary novels have my utmost respect and what they do is so important, but sometimes seeing the same (or similar) issues in a fantasy world makes you think about them in a different viewpoint and it can help you understand them in a better and more complete way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

