Author Exploration: Kij Johnson

Hi guys, I thought it had been a while since I did an author exploration so I thought I would do another on today. The author I have chosen for this one is Kij Johnson. If you’ve been following my blog for a while you will know my new love of this author. I found her this year and I am very glad I did. Kij Johnson is an American writer of fantasy and to the best of my knowledge she has written 3 books (1 of which is a novella), 1 short story collection and a whole load of short fiction works. If I have a review of the books, I have linked it below for you to check out.

 

Books by Johnson:
Fudoki: This was my first experience with this author and it is still my favourite by her. I absolutely adored this book. It is unlike anything I’ve ever read before and it will definitely be going on my favourite books of 2016 list. More people need to read this book. It has wonderful characters and an extremely engaging story. It is also an interesting look into Japanese culture and mythology. This is definitely my favourite book by this author. I have a full review of this, which you can check out here

 

Fox Woman: I have to admit that if I hadn’t read the short story Fox Magic, I think I would have enjoyed this so much more as there are quite a few similarities between the two and it lost a little of its charm. Having said that, I did enjoy it and you can still appreciate the author’s skill. The characters are once again wonderfully written and the story is still engaging.

 

At the Mouth of the River of Bees: I don’t read a lot of short story collection, but I did enjoy dipping in and out of these stories throughout a month this year.This is a great collection that really showcases Johnson’s skill as a writer. There were a few short stories that I wasn’t a fan of (for example Spar), but I expect that with a short story collection – you are not going to love every story, but you can still appreciate the writing. One of my favourite stories was The Cat Who Walked a Thousand Miles. I have a full review of this collection which you can check out here.

 

The Dream Quest of Vellitt Boe: This is actually a novella inspired by the work of H. P. Lovecraft. Now I have not read the original work this was based on, but I still very much enjoyed this story. As always her writing is a pleasure to read and the characters are all well written. I really liked that the main character was a middle aged woman – you don’t see that a lot in the fantasy genre. I also love the cover of this novella.

 

I am so glad I came across this author this year – big shoutout to Marisa (littlespider9) for bringing Fudoki to my attention. I hope that Kij Johnson will be coming out with more books. Let me know if you’ve read anything by her or have one of her books on your tbr. I think that her books are very underrated. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

Leave a Reply

