Bartimaeus Sequence / Jonathan Stroud

Title / The Amulet of Samarkand, The Golem’s Eye and Ptolemy’s Gate
Author / Jonathan Stroud
Publication Date /
Overall Star Rating / 

DSC_0012

 

Goodreads Synopsis of Book 1: Nathaniel is a boy magician-in-training, sold to the government by his birth parents at the age of five and sent to live as an apprentice to a master. Powerful magicians rule Britain, and its empire, and Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny.” If leaving his parents and erasing his past life isn’t tough enough, Nathaniel’s master, Arthur Underwood, is a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician in the Ministry of Internal Affairs. The boy’s only saving grace is the master’s wife, Martha Underwood, who shows him genuine affection that he rewards with fierce devotion. Nathaniel gets along tolerably well over the years in the Underwood household until the summer before his eleventh birthday. Everything changes when he is publicly humiliated by the ruthless magician Simon Lovelace and betrayed by his cowardly master who does not defend him. Nathaniel vows revenge. In a Faustian fever, he devours magical texts and hones his magic skills, all the while trying to appear subservient to his master. When he musters the strength to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to avenge Lovelace by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand, the boy magician plunges into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

 

Today’s review is going to take the form of bullet points. I’m feeling abit uninspired right now and it helps to focus my thoughts. I absolutely love this trilogy, as well as the prequel book. I first read it when I was a teenager and I have reread it a few times since. Onto the review.
  • It is a witty and sharp fantasy with complex characters and engaging plot. It is an incredibly easy read and the writing is great. It has great rereading potential, because of the details and humour. I hope to reread the trilogy soon.
  • It is suitable for a variety of ages, and so can be enjoyed by a variety of readers. For younger readers it is a fun and entertaining series, full of wit, humour and sarcasm. Whereas adults will be able to take more from the story, all the while enjoying the entertainment as well.
  • Captivating story with a remarkable world full of magic and demons, and just when you get comfortable with the story Stround pulls the carpet out from under you, to show you not all is always as it seems. It is set in a alternate London and it showcases the societal issues and class differences. In that way, it is a very interesting read.
  • The use of footnotes is quite unique and is done very well. It never felt too much and I never felt overwhelmed by them. I really enjoyed the witty interludes to the main story.
  • I love the humorous tone of the trilogy and the sarcasm of the demon Bartimaeus is a pleasure to read. He is one of my favourite aspects of the series.
  • The three books, as well as the prequel, are all equally strong. Each book is engrossing and entertaining. The action is well done, and I never found it to be overwhelming in any way. I find it so easy to get engaged with the plot and the characters.
  • In my opinion this is a very underrated fantasy series and it definitely deserves more love. I thought the conclusion was great as well.

 

Those are my thoughts on the Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud. As you can tell I love this series, so clearly I would recommend it. I hope you don’t mind the bullet point style review, but it kind of helps me to organise my thoughts when I’m feeling abit uninspired. Let me know if you’ve read this series and your thoughts on it. I hope you have a great day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bartimaeus Sequence / Jonathan Stroud

  1. I remember picking this up from the shelf in the school library (many moons ago) and debated checking it out (btw I was a member of staff haha). Thanks for bringing it to my attention again Pippa!

    Your bullet points are succinct and share your thoughts extremely well. They are inspiring 😀

    Hope you feel more inspired soon.

    #TalkoftheTown

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

