Goodreads Book Tag

Hello again. It’s Monday so it is time for me to share some bookish content :). Today I am doing the Goodreads book tag. I really enjoy using Goodreads so I thought it was about time to do this tag. I think it is a great platform to talk about books and find people with similar tastes. Let’s get started.

 

What is the last book you read? 
 Well the last book I read was Miller’s Dance by Winston Graham, which is the ninth book in the Poldark series. I find these books to be really easy and enjoyable read, and I am interested to see how things conclude. I still have 3 books to read in this seris though :).

 

What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy. I am very much enjoying it so far. I’ve been meaning to read it for while now, since I read Far From The Madding Crowd earlier this year.

 

What is the last book you marked as To-Be-Read?
Breath of Earth by Beth Cato. This just sounds very interesting – it is the first book in a new fantasy series and you should know by now that I am always up for trying out new fantasy books. Since I am kind of bad at describing synopsis I have linked to it’s goodreads page.

 

What book do you plan on reading next?
There are so many books I want to read next – I would like to read The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth, as it has been on my shelf for some time now. Other books I want to get to soon include The Promise of Child by Tom Toner, Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, Kraken Wakes by John Wyndham, Eagles at War by Ben Kane and IN the Shadow of the Sword by Tom Holland.

 

Do you use the star-rating system?
I do but I definitely think that it has it’s flaws. Say I rate a couple of book 3 stars – one of those may be a high 3 star rating and the other may be a low 3 star rating, maybe closer to a 2 star rating. So it is not perfect but I do use it. I tend to add half stars as well.

 

Do you have a 2016 reading goal?
Yes I have set myself a 100 book reading goal for this year and I am happy to say that I have completed that goal. I am contemplating putting it up to 150 books but I may just leave it as it is on Goodreads and just have 150 as a small goal in the background.

 

What book(s) do you plan on buying next?
This is another one where I could go on for awhile. There are so many books I want to get my hands on. Some books I have my eye on at the moment include Blood Song by Anthony Ryan, The Girl With The Seven Names: Escape from North Korea by Hyeonseo Lee and A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki.

 

What’s your favourite quote?
I have a few I thought I would share:
  • “Light blooms the brighter in the darkest places” The Gift by Alison Croggon.
  • “Respect the past; you never know how it may affect you” Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  • “I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will” Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
  • “No one has ever become poor by giving” The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank
  • “It is said, in Imardin, that the wind has a soul, and that it wails through the narrow streets because it is grieved by what it finds there.”  The Magicians’ Guild by Trudi Canavan
  • “You cannot change what you are, only what you do” The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
Who are your favourite authors?
Garth Nix, Trudi Canavan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Samantha Shannon, Brandon Sanderson, Alison Croggon, Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell – to name a few.

 

Are you a part of any Goodreads groups?
Yes I am – Top 5 Wednesday Group and Our Shared Shelf Group.

 

What could Goodreads do better?
The only thing that comes to mind is the addition of half stars.

 

 

Feel free to add me on Goodreads  as I am pretty active on it and it is the best place to follow if you are interested in what I am reading throughout the month. I hope you enjoyed this tag – I tag whoever wants to do it. What do you think of Goodreads? Do you think it needs any improvements? I’d be really interested to see. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

Leave a Reply

