Recommendations: Fantasy Part 2

Today I thought I would continue with my recommendation series of fantasy books and share five more with you all. I have already posted a recommendations of Favourite seriesFantasy Part 1 and Where to start: Fantasy, but today I thought I would recommend some more fantasy books since fantasy is primarily what I read. So if you think I’ve missed out on any amazing fantasy books or series, then they may be included in those other posts. I am also planning recommendations of historical fiction, science fiction etc so keep an eye out for that. I want to read some more from those genres first but they are both in the works.  As always I have linked to the Goodreads pages of each series for your browsing pleasure. Let’s get started.

 

Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series / Michelle Paver

DSC_0061.JPG

This is a six book series. It is a fantasy series written for younger readers, but I think it can still be enjoyed by a variety of readers and ages. I first read it as a young teen and I still love it in my early twenties. The characters are wonderfully brought to life and the plot is engaging throughout. If you like or are interested in prehistoric settings, you should definitely check this out. There are also some chapters from an animals perspective, if you like that too. You can really tell that the author did alot of research for these books and they are all so enjoyable to read. I think this is such an underrated series and I would recommend it to everyone.

 

 

The Gentlemen Bastard Sequences / Scott Lynch

DSC_0068

Only three books are currently out in this series, but I had to include it. This is a fantastic fantasy series with so many plot twists and shocking moments. I have to admit that I initially struggled with the first book in the series, but after I got paced the first few hundred pages I was hooked. The characters are wonderfully written, especially Locke and Jean. The world building is great as well. I am very much looking forward to the fourth book, which is hopefully coming out this September.

 

 

Warbreaker / Brandon Sanderson 

DSC_0079.JPG

I have to admit this may be my favourite Sanderson book, along with the Mistborn trilogy – it’s hard to pick favourites :). It is the story of two sisters, who are princesses, and one must marry The God King. As always with Sanderson books, the magic system and the world building are amazing. I loved the story line, and was hooked early on. Brandon Sanderson is incredible at writing unique books. To be honest, I don’t know what else to say – I loved it and I highly recommend it. I am so excited for the sequel, Nightblood, whenever it comes out.

 

 

Keys to the Kingdom series / Garth Nix

DSC_0013

As you can see, this is a seven book series.  It follows 12 year old asthmatic Arthur Penhaligon as he stumbles upon a kind of alternate universe. He is chosen as Rightful Heir of the House, the centre of the universe, and subsequently sets out on an adventure to defeat the Morrow Days, the criminal Trustees of the House – each named after a day of the week. This is such a fun, whimsical and entertaining series  – at one point there is even a talking eyebrow. I love the depth of the series. As a younger reader you can enjoy the adventure and characters of the story, but as an older reader I think you will pick up on details you may not have noticed at a younger age. I hope to reread this series this year.

 

Riyria Revelations series / Michael J. Sullivan

DSC_0076.JPG

The Riyria Revelations series is a six book fantasy series that follows Hadrian and Royce, two mercenaries. Their relationship is one of the best things in this series – they have an amazing bromance. The world building is great, the characters are well written and the plot is engaging throughout. It is not perfect – they are a fair number of familiar tropes with the series, but it is a fun and entertaining series. On a complete side note, these are probably some of the worst covers I’ve seen.

 

 

There are some more fantasy recommendations. I read primarily read fantasy so I’ve read a fair amount by now. Let me know if you have any recommendations for me, as I am always up to try new fantasy books. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Recommendations: Fantasy Part 2

  1. I read Age of Myth over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it! So I am putting The Riyria Revelations in my future TBR. I tried to read The Lies of Locke Lamora 3 times but got stuck in the first part. I need to have another go with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I’ve read Age of Myth too and enjoyed it! I hope you enjoy the Riyria Revelations! Yeah definitely stick with it! I struggled with the first 200 pages or so but I ended up really enjoying it! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Books in September – Jacqueline aka Schleifchen

  3. Wow, love of the covers of The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness. Def. adding that to my TBR.

    Absolutely LOVE Garth Nix and Brandon Sanderson. Two of my favorite authors.

    I keep meaning to read Michael J. Sullivan and Scott Lynch. They sound perfect for me but oh, so not enough of time.

    Solid list, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Recommendations: More Fantasy | thelittlebookowl

Leave a Reply

