Discussions: DNFing Books

Hello again 🙂 Today I thought I would do my first discussion post. Since I have been blogging for 6 months, I thought it is about time. So my first discussion topic is DNFing books – if you are unsure DNF stands for did not finish. I used to be on the side of always finishing books, but I am definitely not anymore. I am all for not finishing books. Time is too short to read a book that you are not enjoying and you are not going to enjoy every book you read.

 

As I just mentioned I used to want to finish every book I read and even every series. I think that’s why I got through quite a few of the House of Night series by P.C. and Kristen Cast. Even though I wasn’t really enjoying it, I just wanted to know what happens and how it all ended. In the end I gave up as the series is ridiculously long and it wasn’t really my thing. I think over the last couple of years I’ve really learnt about my tastes. I have been reading more and trying out different books so I feel more comfortable in my tastes. Basically I now feel better equipped at DNFing a book. I can generally tell if it’s a book I need to come back to at a later date or whether it is a book I just don’t want to finish. Usually I try to give a book a hundred pages, or two hundred pages if the book is over five hundred pages, before deciding to give up on it. I like to give books a good go before any decision to DNF, especially if I’ve paid for it. I will DNF a book for a variety of reasons – if I am bored, if the writing style doesn’t work for me, if there are themes or topics that make me uncomfortable etc. It can also be an amalgamation of small things that bother me or just don’t work for me as a reader. For anyone interested I currently have 5 books on my DNF shelf on Goodreads – The Red Knight by Miles Cameron, Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher, The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks and All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. In most of these cases I just found that these books weren’t my thing.
You shouldn’t feel guilty for not finishing a book. An author should know that their books aren’t going to be to everyone’s tastes. I think DNF reviews are fine as long as you give reasons why you felt you couldn’t finish the book and are respectful in the review. You are not going to love or even like every book you like so I think DNFing a book is perfectly fine and it can also lead to some important feedback. I think if you make it clear you didn’t finish the book and the reasons why, it is acceptable to write a review. It could lead to some great feedback. However I would say that if you were sent a book for review, then I think the book should be finished if at all possible. I just feel obliged to finish it if a book was sent to me. That is just my personal opinion though. It is really up to personal preference – just do what works for you.

 

Let me know what you think in the comments. Do you DNF books? If so what was the last book you DNF’d? What pushes you to DNF a book? If you don’t, why is that? Do you think DNF reviews are good or bad? Let’s continue the discussion.

 

See you in the comments 🙂

 

Pippa
2 thoughts on “Discussions: DNFing Books

  1. I do DNF books. I try to make it to at least 25-30%, unless there’s a rape scene. That’s an automatic DNF for me. I have a shelf on GR and sometimes I’ll rate them, sometimes I won’t.

    I think life is too short to read books you’re not enjoying. Besides, not every book is for everyone, so I don’t feel bad about it any more.

    Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

