Pokemon Go Tag

Hello again ūüôā I have a tag for you today. As you can tell from the title, I will be doing the Pokemon Go tag. I am sure you are all aware of the app by now and you probably know about Pokemon anyway so I’m not going to bother to explain it :). This tag was created by¬†ReadAtMidnight¬†and as soon as I saw it I had to do it. Pokemon was a huge part of my childhood and I still love it to this day. Who else remembers collecting the cards?
Disclaimer: For this tag I‚Äôll be using Aentee‚Äôs graphics because¬†seriously look at them – they are amazing and I definitely wouldn’t be able to do anything as good :).

 

1.starters

I wasn’t much of a reader when I was younger, so I didn’t really start reading until my late teens/early twenties. For anyone interested in why, I was told I have dyslexia when I was eight and it really affected my¬†confidence in terms of reading. I remember¬†Sabriel¬†by Garth Nix (and the other two books in the series) as the book that got me into fantasy and reading as a whole. By the way, I’m Team Charmander :).

 

2.pikachu

The first that comes to mind is¬†Pride and Prejudice¬†by Jane Austen. I can’t remember if this was my first Austen book, but I think it is. I love this book and author so much. It is one of my all time favourite classics and the BBC adaptation is one of my favourites as well.

 

3.zubat

Probably¬†Illuminae¬†by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kauffman. It came out last year but it got a lot of hype and everyone seems to love it. I simply don’t have any interest in reading it – something about it just doesn’t seem my thing. For anyone who’s interested zubat is one of my least favourite pokemon.

 

4.ditto

I think¬†Red Queen¬†by Victoria Aveyard is the closet answer – I didn’t love it but I quite liked it. It is definitely derivative in terms of its contents and characters, but I ended up enjoying it anyway. Although the plot twist is pretty predictable as well, it was still a fun ride.

 

 

5.snorlax1

To be honest I can’t think of one – I don’t tend to be swayed by the size of a series. A series I haven’t started yet is the Greatcoats series by Sebastien de Castell. As far as I know there are four books in the series, so it’s not really that big. I have heard some amazing things about the series though and you know I am a big fantasy reader so I hope to start it soon.

 

6.gengar

The last book that kept me up at night was The Hunted Assassin by Paul B. Kohler. I stayed up quite late in an attempt to finish this book and it was definitely worth it. I ended up enjoying this book alot and so I had to stay up to finish it.

 

7.nidokingqueen

Off the top of me head… John and Jane from the Old Man’s War series by John Scalzi, Vin and Elend from the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, Tavi and Kitai from the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher, Elizabeth and Mr Darcy from¬†Pride and Prejudice¬†by Jane Austen and Sabriel and Touchstone from the Old Kingdoms trilogy by Garth Nix.

 

8.rapidash

Maybe Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. It was a bit of a slow start for me, but this ended up being a pretty fast paced read. The writing sometimes bogged me down a bit, but the setting and plot were both so enjoyable. If you love video games and geek culture than you need to check out this book.

 

9.eevee

To be honest I don’t really have an answer for this. In the cynical part of my brain, it just seems to be a way to capitalise and get more money from it. Maybe that’s me being a bit harsh but I am a bit of a cynic. On the topic of Eevee, my favourite evolution is probably Jolteon.

 

10.magikarp

The Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown. I didn’t really know what to expect when I started this trilogy and I was pleasantly surprised by it. I loved it. The first book is the weakest but it is still good and the other books just get better. I am so excited for the Iron Gold series by Pierce Brown – the first book comes out next year, I think.

 

11.legendary

Well I am still interested to finish off the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. So many people love this series but I have only just started it. I have read the first two books and although I didn’t love them, I liked them. I am intrigued to see how things turn out. I have to admit that I struggled a bit with book 2 though. My favourite Legendary bird is Articuno.

 

12.mewtwo

Well I love the Penguin Clothbound editions and the Penguin English Library editions. The Folio Society books are also stunning – I would love to add some of my favourites in their editions. Other than that I can’t think of any other editions.

 

13.pokeegg

I had to really think about this one, but I am definitely interested in¬†Girl in Pieces¬†by Kathleen Glasgow – released in September. I don’t know much about this book, other than that it deals with self harm. As someone who has struggled and continues to struggle with self harm, I am interested to see how it is represented in this book. I hope it is done well. ¬†If anyone is interested I have a full post talking about self harm which you can check out¬†here.

 

14.lure

I wouldn’t say I have auto buy authors – I tend to check what books my favourite authors are releasing as I may not always be interested in them. Basically I just try to keep track of new release of authors I like. Some of the authors I keep track of are Garth Nix, Trudi Canavan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Alison Croggon… Those are the first that comes to mind.

 

 

15.serverdown

I feel like I have been waiting for The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon for ages. I also cannot wait for the sequel to The Rithmatist and Warbreaker, both by Brandon Sanderson, but I have no idea when they will be released. As well as The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman.

 

So that is the Pokemon Go tag. As I mentioned I am a huge fan of Pokemon so I had to do this tag. For me Pokemon is quite a nostalgic thing.  I tag anyone who wants to do it :).Let me know in the comments what your favourite Pokemon is or what is your favourite Pokemon game.  I hope you are having a great day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

