Author Exploration: Trudi Canavan

Today I am starting a new series where I will be exploring different authors. It made sense to me to start with an author that I have massive love for and that is Trudi Canavan. I have read every book that she has published, although I have yet to read any short stories by her, and I am so excited for the next book release – Successor’s Son (book 3 of the Millennium’s Rule trilogy). She is an Australian fantasy author, who currently has 4 separate trilogies as well as a standalone and some short stories.

 

  • The Black Magicians trilogy (Kyralia series)
  • The Traitor Spy trilogy (Kyralia series)
  • The Age of Five trilogy (Ithania series)
  • The Magician’s Apprentice (standalone – Kyralia)
  • The Millennium’s Rule trilogy (last book comes out this year)

 

DSC_0015 (2)

I personally recommend you start with the Black Magicians trilogy, as it is her first trilogy and probably my favourite, but you can really begin anywhere. Although I would definitely recommend reading the Black Magicians trilogy before reading the Traitor Spy trilogy because it is a sequel series. A great starting place is The Magician’s Apprentice as it is a standalone so you don’t have to commit to a whole trilogy, and you don’t have to have read her series to read this standalone. It is also just a great fantasy book. She is definitely an author you should check out if you are a big fan of fantasy. I have been reading her books for years so it is always enjoyable for me to go back to her books, but I can see how some may see it as quite traditional in terms of fantasy writing. While it may be true that her books contain no ground breaking new fantasy writing/plot etc,  it has to be said that she does what she does very well (if that makes sense). Her books are well written with engaging plot and characters, and I think they are easily accessible to everyone, even if you don’t read alot of fantasy. I highly recommend her books.
  • Black Magician trilogy – follows Sonea as she is thrust into the world of magic and must find her feet in this new situation. The first part of book 1 does drag abit, but bear with it because it does get better. I love the range of characters and the setting of the Guild – if you like school settings than you may like this trilogy. Looking back on it I can definitely see some flaws (eg the pacing) but I just have a special place in my heart for this trilogy so it doesn’t bother me. I first read this probably around my mid teens and have reread it many times since. It is one of my all time favourite trilogies.
  • Traitor Spy trilogy – sequel trilogy to the Black Magician trilogy: it is set twenty years after the events of the Black Magician trilogy. Obviously I enjoyed this as it brings me back into a familiar world with some of the same characters. It took me a little while to get into the new storyline, but overall I really enjoyed it.
  • The Magician’s Apprentice – a prequel to the Black Magician trilogy and is set a hundred years before the events of The Magician’s Guild. It follows Tessia, the daughter of the village Healer, who finds out she has magic when she uses it to defend herself against the unwanted advances of a visiting Sachakan mage. This is another of my favourites by Trudi Canavan. Another great female lead and the other characters are equally amazing. I love the healing aspect of this storyline – personal preference to these type of storyline.  This book is in need of a reread by me. I think this is also a great place to start if you are new to fantasy as well.
  • Age of Five trilogy – follows Auraya as she becomes a Priestess of the White and must navigate these unknown waters. If you are looking for fantasy with political/social commentary undertones then you should definitely check out the Age of Five trilogy. I have to admit that I haven’t read this for quite a few years now, and would rank this my least favourite trilogy, however I think it is time for a reread. Don’t get me wrong though it is a good trilogy – I just don’t remember loving it quite as much as her other books. I seem to remember getting frustrated by some of the characters, but I haven’t read it for quite some years.
  • Millennium’s Rule trilogy (last book comes out this year) – follows two perspectives of Tyen and Rielle. Throughout the book it switches between the two: generally I thought this was well done but I can see that it might be jarring to some. Tyen, a student of archaeology, finds a sentinet book called Vella (she’s amazing). Meanwhile Rielle has been taught that to use magic is to steal from the Gods, yet she know she has a talent for it. I am loving this trilogy so far – I have to admit that I did get frustrated with the characters a bit (especially in book 1) and did find Rielle’s plot in book 1 a bit too romance focused but while reading I really enjoyed it. To be honest sometimes it’s not necessarily a bad thing to get frustrated with a character – we are all different and we will all make different decisions so it didn’t detract from the story. I am beyond excited for the last book!

 

As you can probably tell I have big love for Trudi Canavan and her books. I am so excited for the last book in the Millennium’s Rule trilogy. I would love any feedback on this – still unsure of how to write and structure this so let me know if you have any ideas of doing things better. Let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books or if you have been meaning to read them.  Hope you are all having a wonderful day.

 

See you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

4 thoughts on “Author Exploration: Trudi Canavan

  1. I bought the Magicians Guild a while ago, and haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, I really need to pick it up! Lots of these sound so interesting though, hopefully I get round to it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’ve touched briefly on Millennium’s Rule before 🙂 Release date here for the paperback of Angel of Storms is 18th August (on pre-order) and I’m excited!!! Loved everything about Thief’s Magic.

    I like the format you have Pippa. Maybe link to your reviews? so we can read your thoughts.
    #TalkoftheTown

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

