Pellinor Book Tag (Original)

If you’ve been following my blog for a while now, then you probably realise that I absolutely love this series. It is a four book fantasy series written by Australian author Alison Croggon, the first book being The Gift (I think it is called The Naming in some countries)  – a prequel (The Bone Queen) to the series was released earlier this year. So today I thought I would spread the love for this series in the form of a tag that I have created – I personally think it is quite an underrated series. I have ten questions all related to the series in some way, but you don’t have to have read the book to do this tag – there are also no spoilers from the series. Let’s get started.

 

DSC_0007

 

The Gift – pick a book that kept on giving (a book that stayed with you after finishing)
I think I am going to go with To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. It is such an interesting and important book. It really opened my eyes to the amount of judgement we as human beings can put onto each other without really knowing anything about the situation and it just really strengthens the saying don’t judge a book by it’s cover.

 

The Riddle – pick a book that kept you guessing until the very end.
For this, I am going to choose a series and that is the Gentleman Bastard sequence by Scott Lynch. I never really know where this series is going and I have pretty much given up trying to anticipate what is going to happen next. Although it took me a little while to get into book 1 but after the first 100 pages or so I was completely engaged. I am very excited for book 4 – I thought it was coming out in July but apparently it is now coming out in September. Anyway I highly recommend this series.

 

The Crow – pick your favourite animal companion
The first that comes to mind is the Disreputable Dog from the Old Kingdoms trilogy (the last two books) by Garth Nix. Once again if you have been following my blog for a while than you will know I absolutely adore this trilogy and the Disreputable Dog is one of my favourite companions.

 

The Singing – pick you favourite series conclusion
The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson, the third and final book in the Mistborn trilogy. I was very satisfied with the conclusion to this amazing series. Another one is Inheritance by Christopher Paolini – at first I was a little annoyed at how things turned out (if you’ve read it you’ll know why) but I am actually very happy how it ended.

 

The Bone Queen – pick your favourite villain 
I really enjoy a good villain so it is hard to choose a favourite. One that I have really been enjoying is the Chandrian from the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. The shadowy aspect of these seven beings and the mystery behind them, I think is very well done. They are really only spoken about in myth and folklore, so we only learn a small amount about them. I personally enjoy the vague knowledge of these seven beings and I am very much looking forward to the next book in this trilogy (I think it is a trilogy) – I have no idea when it is supposed to be released however.

 

Maerad – pick a favourite heroine who isn’t perfect
Well apart from Maerad, I am going to go with Lirael from the Old Kingdoms trilogy – she is one of my all time favourite female characters (along with Maerad) and I was so excited when I heard that there is a new book by Garth Nix with Lirael in it. The beginning of her story is, I feel, very relatable to a lot of people and I felt very close to her as a reader because of her struggles/pain – near the beginning of book 2 she almost does something which I could relate to as I was going through a dark time when I first read this book so I could relate to her pain. I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone so sorry for the cryptic tone 🙂 hopefully if you’ve read the books you’ll understand.

 

Cadvan – pick a mentor/teacher from a book/series you would like to be taught by
Again apart from Cadvan… I am going to cheat and name two :). Firstly Rothen from the Black Magicians trilogy by Trudi Canavan, and secondly Remus Lupin from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

 

The Speech – pick a book with a unique magic system 
The first thing that comes to my mind is Allomancy from the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, which is actually one of three magic systems in the trilogy. Sorry for the repeat answer of the Mistborn trilogy but it is pretty unique. Basically it involves ingesting metals to gain various powers depending on what metal you take, for example burning tin will enhance your senses, and burning pewter will enhance your strength. There are 16 metals that Allomancers can burn. A Misting is someone who can burn only one of these metals, and a Mistborn is someone who can burn all of the metals.

 

Elementals / Elidhu – pick a book with legendary beings or mythical creatures within
I had to really think about this one but I am going with Tintaglia, who is a dragon that we meet in the Liveship Traders trilogy by Robin Hobb. She is the first dragon to hatch in a very long time and you probably don’t get much more mythical than a dragon, right? A kind of legendary person is Glendower from the Raven Cycle. From what I understand he was a Welsh ruler between the 1300-1400’s – I have only read the first book but they are all trying to find this lost ruler.

 

Pellinor – pick your favourite fictional place.
One of my favourites would have to be Rivendell from the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien. It is a fictional place that I would love to visit, if that was possible. It just seems like such an amazing place.

 

There you have it. I tag anyone who wants to do this tag – you don’t have to have read the series. Please send me the links in the comments or tweet me (my Twitter) if you do this tag, as I would love to see your answers. Also definitely go read this series – it is amazing and I promise you won’t regret it. Hope you are having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

15 thoughts on “Pellinor Book Tag (Original)

  1. Pingback: Pellinor Book Tag | Karina Reads

  2. Pingback: Pellinor Book Tag | Books for MKs

  3. Pingback: TTT: Under 2000 Ratings | thelittlebookowl

  4. Pingback: 5 reasons to read the Pellinor series / Alison Croggon | thelittlebookowl

  5. I’m just about to read the singing (I got it from the library a few hours ago!!) and throughly approve. When I finish I hope to do this tag. I really like that we seem to share the same taste in slightly backlist fantasy–I could fangirl about the Old Kingdom forever, The Magicians Guild Books are fab (Dannyl is the best, and I really want to read the rogue) and the Kingkiller books (Doors of stone = I need) yay for this tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thanks 🙂 I look forward to seeing your answers!! Ahh yes all of my favourite fantasy series! I am so excited for Goldenhand by Garth Nix – October can’t come soon enough 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: TTT: Required Reading for Fantasy fans | thelittlebookowl

  7. Pingback: Underrated Book Tag | thelittlebookowl

  8. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award | thelittlebookowl

Leave a Reply

