Favourite Films

Today I thought I would do something a little bit different and to talk about some of my favourite films. I absolutely love films so I thought I would share five that I really enjoy. I could choose more but I thought five would be a good number. I enjoy a range of films from action to rom-coms to animated films (also a huge fan of Marvel films) etc so for today I’ve chosen a variety of films – I also tried to pick films that are perhaps not as well known as say, the Marvel films (if that makes any sense). I am also a huge Studio Ghibli fan and have a post on my three favourite films by them which you can check out here. With each film I will write out the information/blurb from the back of the DVD to provide a synopsis of each of the films. Let’s get started.

DSC_0003 (2).JPG

  1. Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World – the back of the DVD says ‘When “Lucky” Jack Aubrey’s (Russell Crowe) ship is suddenly attacked by a superior enemy, despite heavy damage to the ship and much of his crew injured, Aubrey sets sail in a high-stakes exhilarating chase to intercept and capture their foe. It’s a mission that can decide the fate of a nation – or destroy him and his crew’. It is around 2 hours long and is an adaptation of three books from the Aubrey / Maturin series by Patrick O’Brian which I really want to read. Paul Bettany is also in this film, who I personally love. This is a great epic historical drama and just a amazing film.
  2. Don’t Say A Word – the back says “Time is running out for psychiatrist Dr. Nathan Conrad (Michael Douglas), who woke up this morning to find his young daughter missing and his apartment under electronic surveillance. But the brutal kidnappers don’t want money – they want Dr. Conrad to extract a six-digit number from the troubled mind of a teenage mental patient (Brittany Murphy). If they don’t get what they want, they’ll kill his only child. Now, the clock is ticking, the patient isn’t talking, and Dr. Nathan Conrad is forced to take unprecedented action in this explosive, spine-tingling thriller that will leave you speechless.’ This is a really enjoyable thriller that I stumbled upon a few years ago and I am very glad that I did – definitely recommend.
  3. Robots – ‘tells the story of Rodney Copperbottom, an aspiring inventor, who travels to Robot City to meet his idol, Bigweld. Along the way he quickly makes a whole gang of new friends, and together they encounter the evil Ratchet. Under the guidance of his mother, Ratchet has taken over Bigweld’s company and is denying the bots the spare parts they need. Is Rodney built from the kind of stuff it takes to save the day?’ I absolutely love this film and have re-watched it many times – I personally think this film is hilarious. The voice acting is great with voices from Ewan McGregor and Robin Williams – you should definitely check it out.
  4. Breakfast at Tiffany’s – probably don’t need to go into too much detail with this one because it’s pretty well know but here’s what the back of the DVD tells you. “George Peppard is the struggling and sponsored young writer who finds himself swept into Holly’s dizzying, delightfully unstructured lifestyle as she determinedly scours Manhattan for a suitable millionaire to marry”. This is a classic and a great romantic comedy – I absolutely love Aubrey Hepburn as well and she is phenomenal in this film.
  5. Some Like it Hot – This is the only one that I do not own. When two musicians witness a mob hit, they flee the state in an all-female band disguised as women, but further complications set in (IMDb synopsis). With actors including Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon and Marilyn Monroe, this film is another one that I think is hilarious – it is probably one of my all time favourite comedy films. If you haven’t seen this film then you need to go check it out – you will not be disappointed.
There you have it – five films that I personally love and would recommend to everyone. I’ll probably talk about films more in another post as there are so many good films out there to talk about, so let me know if that is something you would be interested in. Also let me know if you have any film recommendations for me in the comments.
See you next time.

 

Pippa

 

Leave a Reply

