Bookish Pet Peeves

Today I am going to share some bookish pet peeves with you all – I have picked 10 things that annoy me that are book-related. Let’s get started.
  1. When books in the same series are different height/size… why?
  2. When books have a sticker on the cover that you can’t take off. Why would you do this?! It kind of ruins the aesthetic of the book.
  3. Love triangles. Just don’t, ever.
  4. People on book covers. I don’t think I have seen a cover with a person on that I liked. Just not a fan and don’t understand why it’s continually done.
  5. Communication between characters. When the characters don’t communicate, or hide something to protect the other character, which really just causes more issues. For the love of God just talk to each other! It is infuriating.
  6. Instalove – again just don’t do it. It’s really not realistic.
  7. The Chosen One – sometimes this can be well done I think, but it’s just got to the point where it’s been used so much it’s kind of annoying.
  8. Broken spines and dog-eared pages, but really this is just personal preference.
  9. Unhealthy relationships – I’m looking at you Edward and Bella. Young people will model their beliefs from books they are reading, so showing them couples who are co dependent or obsessed with one another is not a good thing.
  10. Book cover changes.

 

What are some of your bookish pet peeves?

 

See you next time

 

Pippa
4 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Now hate is a strong word, but I literally hate when books in a series are different sizes… I’m looking at you Red Queen series! I really enjoyed Red Queen, went to buy Glass Sword and lo and behold, it’s practically a giant compared to the first book… It bothered me so much I actually put it back!

    I know a lot of people dislike broken spines… I quite like them. Most of my books have a broken spine; I like that they have that worn loved look.

    People on book covers are a funny thing to me… Especially when the person is nothing like what I imagine the character to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know!! It’s so frustrating! Yeah broken spines is really personal preference… Glad I’m not the only one with these pet peeves ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Urgh I have so many series where the books are different sizes and it drives me insane!!! Also I really hate instalove, I still don’t get why authors think it’s entertaining! Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

