FairyLoot Unboxing / April: Intrigue

 

This month I decided to try out a FairyLoot subscription box – spoilers ahead if you haven’t received yours yet. You can subscribe for a month, three months or six months and each box contains one recently published hardback and 3-4 bookish goodies related to the monthly theme. FairyLoot focuses on fantasy but you can expect contemporary, dystopian and historical fiction in the themes. A one month subscription costs £26 + shipping and the boxes are shipped around the 15th of each month – you will receive a dispatch email. Obviously shipping will vary and is calculated during the checkout. I am based in the UK and since FairyLoot is also UK based the shipping wasn’t too bad for my box but I don’t know what it is like for other countries.The theme of April was intrigue. Click here to visit the website.
What the April box with the theme of intrigue contains:
  • Vinyl POP figure Funko – four possible characters from the Hunger Games franchise. As you can see in the photos I got President Snow. Who did you get?
  • Exclusive Glittering Court Poster designed by behindthepages – you can check out there etsy store here. There are some awesome looking watercolour bookmarks.
  • Exclusive Vanilla Bean Scented Intrigue Candle
  • Promo goodies – including temporary gem tattoos, free preview of The Wrath and the Dawn (which I have already read and enjoyed) and an exclusive Glittering Court bookmark.
  • This months book is The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead. This months spoiler card tells me it is the first book in an enthralling new series filled with romance, friendship, glamour and excitement.

DSC_0005.JPG

Overall I am really happy with this box. Judging by the cover this isn’t a book that I would have picked up myself but I’m always up for trying new books and am excited to see what I think. I think for the price it is pretty good, considering you get a newly released hardback, but obviously with shipping I imagine it can be quite pricey for other countries. I personally don’t know whether I would subscribe for a longer period of time – mainly because it is quite a bit of money to spend on a book (+ goodies) you know nothing about. This is just personal preference. Having said that I have signed up for the May box as the theme is High Fantasy. Fantasy is the genre I read the most of so I had to sign up for it –  keep an eye out for a blog post on that next month.  Did you get the April box? If so what did you think? Are you eagerly awaiting the May box?

 

Hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

Leave a Reply

