2 Historical Fiction Reviews

DSC_0014.JPG

 

Title / Burial Rites 
Author / Hannah Kent
Publication Date / 2014
Page no. / 335
Star Rating / ★★★★

 

Burial Rites is inspired by the true story of a young woman accused of murder and awaiting execution in Iceland in 1829. We see her live out her final days at an isolated farm where she was sent to wait for her death. I thought the setting of this novel was fantastic, and I like the fact that Kent is taking a look at a person who I think is historically remembered as being evil. However thinking back on it I realise that it has a very predictable plot and characterisation, and the character of Agnes was just too obvious in how it was done. You know what is going to happen from pretty much the first chapter of the book and you know how the characters opinions are going to change throughout the book. Having said that, I did really enjoy this book. While reading it, I was completely absorbed in the story and I ended up finishing it in a couple of sittings. The writing, as well as the setting, is very atmospheric and the book is just really well-written. Overall I would recommend this book, especially if you are a historical fiction fan.

 

 

Title / Between Shades Of Grey
Author / Ruta Sepetys
Publication Date / 2011 (first published)
Page no. / 344
Star Rating / ★★★★★

 

Between Shades Of Grey is about Lithuanians being displaced to Siberian work camps during World War 2, and follows fifteen year old Lina as she is sent to a work camp with her mother and younger brother. I have to admit that I knew very little of the displaced Europeans and so it was interesting to learn more about this brutal time. It took me a little while to get used to the writing as the chapters are very short, but once I realised that is realistically how Lina would have written I was completely engaged. The writing and structuring of the chapters is cleverly done – as Lina would only have short times when she could write or draw without being caught. All of the characters are extremely well written, and the strength of each, especially the mother, is incredible to read about. If you like historical fiction, then I highly recommend this book. I am very much looking forward to reading more from this author.

 

Let me know if you have any historical fiction recommendation.

 

See you next time

 

Pippa

 

 

Leave a Reply

